Research Seminars in Finance, Economics and Banking (formerly IVRSiF)

FMA is pleased to partner with the Finance, Economics and Banking Research Network (FEB-RN) to host a series of virtual seminars featuring researchers at the forefront of their fields.

The FEB-RN 
consists of the following universities:

  • Aalborg University Business School, Denmark (founder)
  • University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • University of Minho, School of Economics and Management, Portugal
  • Fundacao Getulio Vargas, Brazil
  • University College Dublin, Ireland
  • University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Tor Vergata University of Rome, Italy
  • University of Belgrade, Faculty of Economics, Serbia
  • Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
  • Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania 
  • Phenikaa University, Vietnam 
  • Poznan University of Economics and Business, Poland
The one-hour seminars will take place on Zoom. Speakers will give a 45 minute presentation, followed by 15 minutes of moderated Q&A. Questions will be selected by the moderator from those submitted via Zoom chat.

Upcoming Seminar 

Date & Time: 7 March 2024 at 9 AM ET US (3 PM CET)

Speaker: Murillo CampelloProfessor of Finance, Cornell University, USA

Title: Uncertainty Creates Zombie Firms: Implications for Industry Dynamics and Creative Destruction

Moderator: Rafael Schiozer, Professor of Finance, FGV-EAESP

Register Now!

Upcoming Speakers 

SPRING 2024

Murillo Campello
Professor of Finance, Cornell University, USA
7 March, 9 AM ET US (3 PM CET)

Steven Kaplan, Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, University of Chicago Booth School of Business, USA
21 March, 9 AM ET US (3 PM CET)

Laura Starks, Professor of Finance, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin, USA
11 April, 9 AM ET US (3 PM CET)

Geert Bekaert, Professor of Business, Columbia Business School, USA
2 May, 9 AM ET US (3 PM CET)

Alex EdmansProfessor of Finance, London Business School, UK
16 May, 10 AM ET US (4 PM CET)

David Hirshleifer, Professor of Finance, Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California, USA
30 May, 11 AM ET US (5 PM CET)


Past Speakers

2024

Andrei Shleifer, Harvard University
"Belief Overreaction and Stock Market Puzzles"

2023

Jonathan Berk, Stanford Graduate Business School
"The Impact of Impact Investing"

Heitor Almeida, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
"The Working Capital Credit Multiplier"

Clemens Sialm, University of Texas at Austin
"Pension Fund Flows, Exchange Rates, and Covered Interest Rate Parity"

William Goetzmann, Yale School of Management
"Crash Narratives"

Camelia KuhnenUniversity of North Carolina
“Wealth and Insurance Choices: Evidence from U.S. Households”

Ronald Masulis, University of New South Wales
"Value-enhancing effects of female independent directors in companies with overconfident CEOs"

Thorsten Beck, European University Institute
"Incomplete supervisory cooperation"

Tracy Yue Wang, University of Minnesota
"Political Divide and the Composition of Households' Equity Portfolios"

2022

Alexander Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
"Great Recession Babies: How Are Startups Shaped by Macro Conditions at Birth?"

Lin Peng, Baruch College
 "News Diffusion in Social Networks and Stock Market Reactions"

Ross Valkanov
"The Mortgage-Cash Premium Puzzle"

Patrick Bolton, Imperial College & Columbia University
"Firm Commitments"

Carola Frydman, Northwestern University
“Securities Ratings and Information Provision”

Sheridan Titman, University of Texas at Austin
“The Performance of Characteristic-Sorted Portfolios: Evaluating the Past and Predicting the Future”

Toni Whited, University of Michigan
“Taxes Depress Corporate Borrowing: Evidence from Private Firms”

Joel Peress, INSEAD
“What do Interest Rates Reveal about the Stock Market? A Noisy Rational Expectations Model of Stock and Bond Markets”

Rüdiger Fahlenbrach, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
"Greening the Swiss National Bank’s Portfolio"