2019 Consortium on Factor Investing

Monday, 4 February 2019
Jesus College Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom

Supported by Cambridge Judge Business School's Centre for Endowment Asset Management (CEAM), the Centre for Financial Econometrics, Asset Markets and Macroeconomic Policy (EMP) at Lancaster UniversityInvesco and FMA, the Consortium is designed for European finance faculty who are currently working on research in factor investing and related topics. Priority will be given to researchers who have received their doctorates within the last five years.

The consortium will be focused, with 5-6 high quality papers, discussants, and a limited number of other researchers. The program will also include a presentation by a keynote speaker. Distinguished members of the finance profession, and practitioners will provide feedback to presenters and discuss issues in factor investing as well as aspects of academic publishing and career development.

Consortium Co-Chairs

  • David Chambers, Reader in Finance, University of Cambridge and Academic Director, Centre for Endowment Asset Management (CEAM)
  • Mark Hutchinson, Professor and Chair of Finance, University College Cork
  • Mark Mulcahy, Senior Lecturer, University College Cork
  • Pedro Saffi, Reader in Financial Economics, University of Cambridge

Consortium Goals

  • Present high quality new and unpublished research
  • Bring together younger scholars working in factor investing and related topics and help them benefit from engaging with each other and gaining exposure to more senior faculty

Keynote Speaker


Ludovic Phalippou
Professor of Financial Economics
Saïd Business School, University of Oxford

Ludovic is the author of the bestseller 'Private Equity Laid Bare', and he is a tenured faculty member of Saïd Business School, University of Oxford. He specialises in the areas of private equity that are of interest to investors in that asset class, such as fee tracking, interest alignment, and return benchmarking.

Application and Selection Process

Click here to view the Call for PapersPapers must be received by Friday, 19 October 2018. Decision notices will be sent by 16 November. Applications to present current research will be selected on a competitive basis, with priority given to European finance faculty who have been awarded their doctorate within the last five years. Criteria will include the nature of the research problem, implications of the proposed research, the quality of the research design, and the expected contribution of the research to the literature. Click here to view previous years' programs.

Accepted presenters will be exempted from paying the registration fee and will be invited to a conference networking dinner. One night’s accommodation will be covered for presenters.

Best Paper Prize

Paper authors will be eligible for the Invesco Factor Investing Prize (£1000). Additionally, authors of the best paper prize will be invited to present their paper on special sessions at the 2019 FMA European Conference in Glasgow, Scotland (12 - 14 June 2019). 

Formal Participant Letters & Invitations

For participants seeking a formal invitation from FMA for either institution support or visa requirements, please contact Lisa Bryan at +1.813.974.2084 or [email protected]. Participants must be registered for the conference in order to receive a requested letter. 

#FMAInvesting2019 - Follow the Conversation

During the conference, use the hashtag #FMAInvesting2019 to follow the conversation on Twitter (@finmgmtassoc) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/FMA.org).

Thank You Sponsors



Best Paper Prize Sponsor



Past Consortium Programs

  • View the program for the 2018 Consortium on Trading Strategies and Institutional Investing
  • View the program from the 2017 Consortium on Institutional Investing and Hedge Funds
  • View the program from the 2015 Consortium on Activist Investors, Corporate Governance and Hedge Funds
  • View the program from the 2014 Consortium on Research in Hedge Funds, Trading Strategies & Related Topics

Thank You to Our Program Committee

  • Nick Baltas, Goldman Sachs & Visiting Academic at Imperial College Business School
  • Sohnke M Bartram, University of Warwick
  • Filip Bekjarovski, Tilburg University
  • Jesse Blocher, Vanderbilt University
  • Jonathan Brogaard, University of Utah
  • Ching-Chang CC Wang, Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology
  • Yong Chen, Texas A&M University
  • Si Cheng, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Darwin Choi, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Liya Chu, East China University of Science and Technology
  • James Clunie, Jupiter Asset Management
  • Mathijs Cosemans, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Gregory Eaton, Oklahoma State University
  • Chanaka Edirisinghe, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Guanhao Feng, City University of Hong Kong
  • Ben Christopher Gabor, Swansea University
  • Nataliya Gerasimova, NHH Norwegian School of Economics
  • Amit Goyal, University of Lausanne
  • Moqi Groen-Xu, London School of Economics
  • Yazhou He, University of Oxford
  • Huichou Huang, Jupiter Asset Management, City University of Hong Kong
  • Russell Jame, University of Kentucky
  • Petri Jylha, Aalto University
  • Oguzhan Karakas, Cambridge Judge Business School
  • Thomas Keusch, INSEAD
  • Marie Lambert, University of Liege, HEC Liege
  • Adam Y.C. Lei, Midwestern State University
  • Tao Li, University of Florida
  • Matthijs Lof, Aalto University
  • Dong Lou, London School of Economics
  • Christian Lundblad, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Andrew Arch Lynch, University of Mississippi
  • Guido Max Mantovani, Ca' Foscari University of Venice & International University of Monaco
  • M. Imtiaz Mazumder, St Ambrose University
  • Grzegorz Michalski, Wroclaw University of Economics
  • Amit Mittal, Indian Institute of Management Lucknow
  • John O'Brien, University College Cork
  • Seongkyu (Gilbert) Park, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • David Rakowski, University of Texas Arlington
  • Oliver James Randall, Emory University
  • Adam V Reed, UNC Chapel Hill
  • Julia Elizabeth Reynolds, Universita della Svizzera Italiana
  • Russell Allyn Rhoads, Oklahoma State University; Loyola-Chicago; TABB Group
  • Geraldine Anne Ryan, University College Cork
  • Daniel Schmidt, HEC Paris
  • Jan Schnitzler, VU University Amsterdam
  • Thomas Sheedy, Invesco
  • Denitsa Stefanova, University of Luxembourg
  • Jason Sturgess, Queen Mary University of London
  • Hui-Ju Tsai, Washington College
  • Sunil Wahal, Arizona State University
  • Ying Y Wang, SUNY at Albany
  • Gulnara Zaynutdinova, West Virginia University
  • Yeqin Zeng, Durham University Business School